Click here to send us your inquires or call (852) 36130518

Kadavoor  Church

Kadavoor, a picturesque village flanked by Ashtamudi Lake with a vast sprinkling of coconut groves had a flourishing Christian community from early centuries. �Thevally' across the lake (upper Kollam) was a centre of St. Thomas Christians, and Christian immigrants from Syria were engaged in trade in the area. �Thareesa pally' the famed centre of Christianity in India was also at �Thevally�. Naturally Kadavoor became a trading centre as well as part of the early Christian heritage. Kadavoor was part of Neendakara Parish till 1870 when Msgr. Mary Ephrem Carrelon, Vicar Apostolic of Quilon, erected Kadavoor as a separate Parish. In 1817 six families purchased a plot for the Church from Mrs. McDowell the wife of an Army officer of East India Company stationed in Kadavoor. In 1873 Governado D.V.F. Nazareth erected the first church which was extended by Rev. Diago Anto Ivan D'Souza, a Portuguese Priest, the first parish priest of Kadavoor. The present church was completed in the year 1993, under the leadership of Rev. Fr. Paul Cruz.

Contact: The Parish Priest

St.Casmir's Church, Kadavoor ,Mathilil , Perinad � 691 601  Tel: 0474-2701435

BACK TO STATIONS
© 2005 ++ Quilon Diocese++. All rights reserved